Black Beard – Edward Teach
Le Clerc was also known as ‘Jambe de Bois’ or ‘Peg Leg’ and was a French privateer in the 1500s. It is claimed that he was the first ‘modern’ pirate to have a peg leg. According to historic records, Le Clerc and over 300 of his men settled on Pigeon Island and attacked Spanish ships that were passing through the area, stealing treasure. Francois le Clerc he died as he lived, pirating in the Azores Islands in 1563. Today, there is a restaurant inside the Pigeon Island National Park, called Jambe de Bois, which serves delicious local food.
Like most aspects of Saint Lucian history, many relics of this era are still scattered throughout the island. For anyone interested in learning more about Saint Lucia’s quirky pirate history, definitely spend the afternoon hiking up and down the Pigeon Island historical fort. These ruins were used heavily by pirates as staging grounds, look-out towers, and cannon posts while they plundered European trade ships for almost a century.